Is Pepper Spray Legal in Florida?
Pepper spray is legal in all 50 US states, lots of them regulate some aspects, Florida is one of them. Before you decide to buy and carry OC spray in Florida you need to get some information on its legal status.
So you wonder if it is legal to carry and use self-defense spray in your state. Maybe you are not sure if you need a license to possess it in Florida, or you may ask when you can use it.
After you read this post you will get a clear picture of what you can an can’t have for self-defense purposes in your state. I will try to answer on next most important questions:
Is there a special license or permit required to possess or use OC spray?
No, carrying pepper spray does not require a weapon license as long as you use “self-defense chemical spray” ( pepper spray that contains less than two ounces of chemical ). If you want to possess “Tear gas gun” or “chemical weapon or device” you need a license for that.
How is capsicum spray defined in Florida law?
Pepper spray can be defined as “Tear gas gun” or “chemical weapon or device” or “self-defense chemical spray”.
How old you have to be to carry pepper spray in Florida?
Like in many other US states, if you want to legally possess pepper spray in Florida you have to be 18 years old. If you carry or use pepper spray and you are younger you may get in troubles. Don’t use it if you are not at least 18 years old.
Where you can and where you can’t use or possess it?
Federal law prohibits pepper spray ( even self-defense chemical devices ) to possess or use in federal buildings, prisons, and courts. You can have it on other public and private places.
When it is legal to pepper-spray someone in Florida?
You can pepper spray someone only in a lawful self-defense situation. This means it can be used in any nondeadly force and in nonexcessive nature.
To put it simply…if the attacker scream: “I am sorry!” you can not keep spraying. If you do so you can and up with
Can you buy it online if you live in Florida?
Yes, you can buy it online. You have to be at least 18 years old and the pepper spray that you are buying
What about restrictions in other US states?
You may live somewhere else in the US and wonder what restrictions about self-defense sprays are there in your country. In this post, I have covered all pepper spray regulations in all 50 US, have a look.